It Takes a Village

Houses $38.95 - $41.95

I was doing an interview the other day about how we reach our customers, and who are those customers. I thought, but did not say, sometimes I feel like your guess is as good as mine as to who they are and how the heck the found us. We have a billboard, we advertise locally, we advertise regionally, we Twitter, we Facebook, we blog and we shake every hand at Los Cabos Restaurant for our traditional Friday night dinner. YOU tell ME what works. But, this is what I believe, it takes all of that – a village of communication if you will – to reach that one customer that stops and shops. In my old PR days, pitching business, pitching reporters, I was told I’d make 100 calls to get one yes. Well, retail ain’t any different folks. Hate to tell you! In our current economy this is really true. But, this is the BEST time (granted it is also the hardest to justify financially) to stay out there promoting and selling your store. There are days I’m wondering if everyone else is doing fine and I”m sitting here to an empty space. There are days I think I got all the customers…yeah! But, the reality is, we all do the best we can. We all work to have something unique that will appeal to our customer -whether this is their 100th visit or first. The super highway of Twitter and Facebook is what really keeps me sane. It is like performing for a live audience, you get instant feedback. The billboard, newspaper and radio, and even my blog aren’t quite so strong on the “instant gratification” stage. But, they help reinforce all I am and all I hope the Silver Barn to be. So, who is my customer? My customer is whoever my merchandise appeals to, and while I have an idea of “her” in my mind, it changes daily. How do I reach my customer? My village reaches that customer one way or the other every single day and my job is to keep that village buzzing. Now, tell two friends so they’ll tell two friends, and so on, and so on, and so on…and we’ll continue to create a great retail environment.

4 Comments

Filed under Country Living, Furniture, Gift shop, Gifts, holiday decorating, home decor

4 responses to “It Takes a Village

  1. Thank you for writing this. It strikes a very familiar cord with myself and I am sure many other retailers who ask themselves these questions every day. Very insightful!

    • I appreciate hearing that. Sometimes things just flow, sometimes they don’t. This was one that flowed after the reporter opened the mental “gate” and I started asking myself “what works.” Hope you have a happy selling season too!

  2. I’m glad I found your blog! I have an online retail store, and I’m in the same state of wonder about how to appeal to customers. I think it’s part of being in any this business. I wish all the best for my fellow retailers throughout the Christmas season!

Leave a Reply

